

Minutes of Annual General Meeting 17th October 2024 Held in the Kindle Centre, Hereford

Tim Bridges the speaker for the evening had cancelled because of flooding on the roads.

David Fowler spoke instead about the events that led to the forming of Hereford Civic Society in 1973 and its functions and activities since then.

1. Introduction and Welcome to the AGM

David Fowler, Chair welcomed everyone present. 20 + members remained for the AGM David Fowler declared that the meeting was quorate.

The date of the AGM was unchanged from that included in the 2024 meeting programme published in late 2023. All members were sent the AGM Agenda and AGM papers on 12th October 2024 by email, or where the Society did not hold an email address, by post.

Committee Members in Attendance: David Fowler (Chair and Treasurer), Jeremy Milln, Ben Nash, Martin Leaton.

2. Apologies

Marcelle Lloyd-Hayes, Viv & Anthony Barraclough, Bob Heath, Alison Clarke, Mike Morley, David Roberts, Sue Edwards, Anne Harbour. Also, Alan & Chris Bucknell about whom, in their absence, David Fowler expressed his gratitude for all that they do for HCS.

3. Approval of Minutes of the 2023 AGM held on 19th October 2023

It was proposed that these be accepted as a true and accurate record.

Proposer: Jeremy Milln Seconder: Martin Leaton

All were in favour. The minutes were duly adopted as a true record of the 2023 AGM

4. Chairman's Report

The report had been circulated to all members in advance of the Meeting. David explained that his report is divided into three sections. Firstly, there are details of the Society's Governance, which is provided in order to conform with Charity legislation. The second part summarises the Society's activities during the past year – the monthly meeting programme, trips and other activities. The third section considers some of the issues and tasks that will need to be addressed in 2024-25.

The Conservation & Planning Sub-Committee made representations to Herefordshire Council on 24 Planning Applications, including the Council's proposals for the Hereford Station Transport Hub & for the refurbishment of the Broad Street Museum Building, which formerly included the City Library and Art Gallery. Both representations led to Hereford Civic Society (HCS) addressing the Council's full Planning Committee.

Hereford Station Transport Hub. HCS presented to the Council Planning Officers an alternative design which would have provided greater capacity: a necessity once the County Bus Station closes. HCS's design located the bus dismounting/boarding areas adjacent to the Station entrance, rather than the Council's design which located them on the site's periphery with stand-alone shelters for waiting bus passengers. HCS proposed an atrium attached to the ground floor of the Station entrance enclosed with glass walls, enabling bus passengers to wait in the dry and avail themselves of refreshments through a serving hatch in the rear wall of Platform 3 Station buffet. This was a feature included in the Council's Strategic Plan for the Hub but as with several other features, failed to be incorporated in the Council's proposals. The MP for Hereford and South Herefordshire, Jesse Norman, recommended that HCS should approach Active Travel England (ATE). Initially, ATE wrote objecting to the Council's proposed plans. Their principal concern was that the plans did not include acceptable infrastructure for those accessing the Station on foot or bicycle and that secure storage in the dry for bicycles was inadequate. Immediately prior to the Planning Application being placed before the Council Planning Committee, ATE withdrew their written objection, on condition that approval was only granted if the Council developed revised plans that would address ATE's concerns. HCS awaits sight of these revised plans.

In looking forward to the next year, the Chair expressed concern that nothing had been heard about the **Hereford City Masterplan** since the current County Council administration took Office in May 2023.

Time which the HCS Committee had devoted to current planning applications meant that the intended publication of the **booklet celebrating the Society's 50**th **anniversary** is now expected to be in 2025.

In conclusion, David thanked Darren Ray for assisting the Committee in responding to the Council's active travel proposals by developing professional quality alternative designs for HCS & for the hard work and time that this entailed.

David thanked all of those on the Executive Committee, & the Conservation & Planning Committee for all their hard work and support during his time as Chair. He also thanked the Society's Membership for their continuing support of the Society's activities.

5. Approval of 2023/24 Annual Accounts and Budget for 2024/25

David Fowler gave a brief overview saying that 2023/24 had produced a surplus of £228, which meant that the Society ended the year with net assets of £4,277. As a consequence, the Society has sufficient funds to cover the costs of the Anniversary booklet.

It was proposed that the Accounts for 2023/24 and the Budget for 2024/25 should be approved **Proposer:** Ben Nash **Seconder:** John Faulkner

All were in favour.

6. Appointment of Accounts' Examiner.

No appointment was made during the meeting.

(Post Meeting Note: Andrew London has volunteered to fulfil this role).

7. Election of Officers

Members nominated:

Chairman: no nomination received Vice-Chairman: Marcelle Lloyd-Hayes

Treasurer: David Fowler Secretary (Minutes and Communications): Chris Bucknell

All the above had agreed to stand in their current position for another year, other than David Fowler who was stepping down as Chair. No other nominations had been received prior to the AGM. All members present approved the current role holders continuing in their positions.

Barbara Ferris proposed that the Committee give consideration to approaching HVOSS in the recruitment of external candidates to become Officers.

Jeremy Milln volunteered to take on the Role of Chair.

Proposer: Martin Leaton Seconder: Ros Peter.

Approved by all members present

8. Election of Members' Representatives to the Executive Committee

The Current Constitution required a minimum of 2 and not more than 8 Member representatives.

Currently, Alan Bucknell, Martin Leaton, Ben Nash, Jeremy Milln served on the Committee as non-Executive Members. All were willing to serve another year. Jeremy Milln automatically stepped down as he had accepted the position of Chair.

Members present unanimously agreed that Alan Bucknell, Chris Bucknell, Martin Leaton and Ben Nash should continue on the Committee.

No other nominations had been received prior to the AGM or during the AGM.

Maggie Setterfield asked whether members could be nominated to the Committee at any time during the year. David Fowler confirmed that is the case and encouraged others to put themselves forward to join the Committee. He reminded those present that Members could be co-opted onto the Management Committee at any time or could undertake roles without necessarily being a member of the Executive Committee.

9. Close of Meeting.

Jeremy Milln, as the newly appointed Chair thanked David Fowler for all his hard work during his 5 years as Chairman & thanked Ros Peter for arranging the Society's meeting programme and outings. He reminded members that the next meeting is on Thursday November 14th at 7.30pm (note this is the 2nd Thursday of the month) David Thame will be the speaker. His talk is titled: It Means the World to us, Place, Property, Development & Memory (sub-title "How what gets built, gets built, and why it possibly shouldn't")

There being no other business the meeting closed at 21.15hrs.